MALAYSIA struck an unexpected gold in the men’s doubles wheelchair WH1-2 (impairment in one or both lower limbs) through Muhammad Ikhwan Ramli-Madzalan Saibon who upset defending champions and top seeds Junthong Dumnem-Jakarin Homhaul of Thailand 22-20, 21-19 in the ASEAN Para Games badminton final on Friday.

The Axiata Arena in Bukit Jalil, the venue for the badminton events, came alive as the two pairs battled for supremacy in a 37-minute thriller that kept the fans on the edge of their seats throughout.

For Madzlan, whose left leg was amputated above after a motorbike accident in 1995, it was his second gold medal for the day, having earlier won the men’s singles WH2 gold, defeating Vietnam’s Truong Ngoc Binh 21-10, 21-10 in the final.

Ikhwan was emotional to win the doubles gold after losing the men’s singles (WH1) gold to top seed and defending champion Jakarin 21-13, 16-21 and 21-14 in the final.

“This is my first Para Games and this gold means a lot to me. I was down after losing in the men’s singles final but Madzlan consoled me and told me to put the defeat aside and look towards the doubles to redeem the defeat,” said Ikhwan.

Malaysia’s Cheah Liek Hou also wrested the men’s singles (SU5) badminton title from Indonesia’s Suryo Nugroho with a 21-11, 21-15 win in 33 minutes. It was sweet revenge for Like Hou having lost to the Indonesian at the same stage in Singapore in 2015.

Malaysia had earlier won the men’s singles SS6 (short stature) through Didin Taresoh who beat compatriot Muhammad Naim Ahmad Halmi 21-1, 24-22 in an all Malaysian final and Madzlan Saibon men’s singles wheelchair 2



SL3: Ukun Rukaendi (Ina) bt Muhammad Huzairi Abdul Malek (Mas) 21-15, 7-21, 21-11.

SL4: Hary Susanto (Ina) bt Chawarat Kitichokwattana (Tha) 21-16, 21-13

SU5: Cheah Liek Hou (Mas) bt Suryo Nugroho (Ina) 21-11, 21-15

SS6: Didin Taresoh (Mas) bt Muhammad Naim Ahmad Halmi (Mas) 21-1, 24-22 WH1: Jakarin Homhaul (Tha) bt Muhammad Ikhwan Ramli (Mas) 21-13, 16-21, 21-14.

WH2: Madzlan Saibon (Mas) bt Truong Ngoc Binh (Vie) 21-10, 21-10.



WH1-2: Muhammad Ikhwan Ramli-Madzlan Saibon (Mas) bt Junthong Dumnem-Jakarin Homhaul (Tha) 22-20, 21-19

SU5: Dheva Anrimusthi-Hafizh Billiansyah Prawiranegara (Ina) bt Suryo Nugroho-Oddie Kurnia Listiant Putra (Ina) 21-15, 21-12

SL3-4: Ukunb Rukaendi-Hary Susanto (Ina) bt Dwiyoko Dwiyoko-Fredy Setiawan (Ina) 21-15, 21-16



WH2: Amnouv Wetwithan (Tha) bt Sujirat Pookham (Tha) 19-21, 21-15, 21-10 SU5: Warining Rahayu (Ina) bt Norrizah Rahim (Mas) 21-18, 21-16

SL4: Leani Ratri Oktila (Ina) bt Khalimatus Sadiyah Sukohandoko (Ina) 21-7, 21-12



SL3-SU5: Hary Susanto-Leani Ratri Oktila (Ina) bt Fredy Setiawan-Khalimatus Sadiyah Sukohandoko (Ina) 21-11, 21-13.