TEENAGER Carmen Lim provided Malaysia’s only gold medal in the pool on Day 4 of the ASEAN Para Games swimming events by winning the women’s 50m Freestyle S8 event in record breaking time at the National Aquatic Centre in Bukit Jalil on Thursday.

The Malaysian lass clocked 36.48s to better her previous record of 39.14s set at the 2015 Singapore Asean Para Games. Thailand’s Chaisawas (39.56s) and Indonesian Nor Aimah (41.28s) took silver and bronze medals respectively. She had also won silver in the 100m backstroke S8 final clocking 1:42.57s, behind Indonesian Gusmalayanti (1:42.07s) and Thailand’s Wongnonthap Wilasini (1:46.51s).

Carmen’s teammates also won four silver medals on a day when the Indonesians and Singaporeans continued to splash in the pool. Three-time Paralympian Zul Amirul Sidi Abdullah, Zul’s youngest son Anas, Ting Jin Ping and Muhammad Nur Syaiful Zulkafli made it a five-silver medal haul for Malaysia. Zul Amirul Sidi and Jamery Siga contributed silver and bronze in the men’s 100m backstroke (S5) by clocking 1:41.84s and 1:46.80s, respectively, while Vietnam’s Vo Thanh Tung took the gold with a time of 1:26.77s – erasing Zul Amirul’s previous record of 1:36.80s.

Ping Ting lost the race for gold medal to Indonesia’s Muhammad Bejita while Anas Zul ended with the silver in the men’s 50m Freestyle S14. Mohd Adib Iqbal Abdullah picked up the bronze in the same event.

Toh Wei Soong won Singapore’s fourth swimming gold in the Para Games here with a scintillating performance in the men’s S7 50m freestyle race. He posted 29.79 seconds to set a new meet record. It was Wei Soong’s second gold in the Games, finishing ahead of Vietnam’s Le Tien Dat (33.10s) and Thailand’s S. Kaweewat (33.93s). Wei Soong also picked silver in the S7 backstroke event on Thursday with his time of 1:25:84.

Indonesia’s Suriansyah took gold in 1:23.69 while Gary Bejino of the Philippines was third (1:27:37). Paralympic medallist Theresa Goh clinched silver in the women’s S5 50m freestyle in 46.74s while Indonesia’s Laura Aurelia Dinda Sekar Devanti set a new meet record of 40.48s en route to winning the race, breaking Theresa’s old meet record of 44.30s and Thailand’s Nopparat Tanbut was third in 56.78s.